Church of Ireland Home

Document Library

Published: , Last updated:

Divided States: Irish Independence and its Aftermath, 1918–1923

The Church of Ireland’s Historical Centenaries Working Group has published a reading list on the 1918–1923 phase of the decade of centenaries to encourage a greater understanding of this era in Irish history.  Divided States: Irish Independence and its Aftermath, 1918–1923 is introduced with an essay by the Archbishop of Armagh.

The reading list covers the wider context of Irish history, the development of nationalism and unionism, events in Ireland from 1913 to 1923, the Anglo–Irish Treaty, the Civil War, partition and the development of Northern Ireland, the Southern Protestant community, and the role of women in the revolutionary era.

The first and second editions are available below to download at the following links or to read on Flipbook format below.

Divided States first edition – 2019

Divided States second edition – 2022




















Our use of cookies

Some cookies are necessary for us to manage how our website behaves while other optional, or non-necessary, cookies help us to analyse website usage. You can Accept All or Reject All optional cookies or control individual cookie types below.

You can read more in our Cookie Notice


These cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

Analytical cookies help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage.