Church of Ireland Home

The Church Year

The Church Year

The worship of the Church of Ireland is set in a liturgical framework or calendar, commencing on Advent Sunday, the fourth Sunday before Christmas Day.  The Church of Ireland observes the main festivals of the Catholic tradition, as well as certain saints’ days.

The principal holy days are Christmas Day, Epiphany, the Presentation of Christ, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter Day, Ascension Day, Pentecost (Whitsunday), Trinity Sunday, and All Saints’ Day.

There are 32 festival days, including St Brigid, St Patrick, and St Columba, and three feasts dedicated to Mary, the mother of Our Lord.  All Sundays celebrate the death and resurrection of Christ and reflect the character of the seasons in which they are set.

Our use of cookies

Some cookies are necessary for us to manage how our website behaves while other optional, or non-necessary, cookies help us to analyse website usage. You can Accept All or Reject All optional cookies or control individual cookie types below.

You can read more in our Cookie Notice


These cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

Analytical cookies help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage.