Church of Ireland Home

Day 1

Business Continues on Day One of General Synod 2018

The opening session of General Synod 2018 continues in the Armagh City Hotel. The Most Revd Dr Richard Clarke, Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland welcomed members of Synod and the Synod’s ecumenical guests.

Guests this year include: Most Rev Eamon Martin , Roman Catholic Church; Most Rev Brendan Leahy, Roman Catholic Church; and Mr Tommy Burns, Roman Catholic Church; the Very Rev Dr Frank Sellar, Presbyterian Church in Ireland; Mrs Sadie Somerville, Presbyterian Church in Ireland; the Rev Laurence Graham; Methodist Church in Ireland; Mr Kenneth Twyble, Methodist Church in Ireland; Dr Nicola Brady, Irish Council of Churches; the Rev Brian Anderson (new President of ICC), Irish Council of Churches, the Rev Sarah Groves, Moravian Church of Britain and Ireland; Ms Miriam Weibye, Episcopal Church; Bishop of Haarlem, Dr Dirk Jan Schoon, Old Catholic Churches (on behalf of the International Bishops’ Conference); Rev Father Rouies Anba Bishoy, Coptic Orthodox Church; and Dr Sherif Kelada.

Archbishop Clarke nominated Mr Lyndon McCann to be his assessor. The election of Honorary Secretaries took place. The Ven George Davidson, Canon Gillian Wharton, Mr Ken Gibson and Ms Hazel Corrigan were elected as Honorary Secretaries of General Synod for the next three years.

Motions 1 and 2 on the timetable and standing orders were moved. The Book of Reports 2018 was laid on the table along with Priorities News 2018 and the report and accounts of Incorporated Society. The Ven George Davidson (Hon Sec) presented the communication from the Record Committee. He then read communications from diocesan synods.