Church of Ireland Home

Disability Working Group

Working Group on Disability news February, 2008

At its meeting on 1st February last, the Working Group on Disability appointed Miss Judith McGaffin as Chairperson in place of the Rev Robin Harris, who has resigned from the group. Mr Ian Slaine was appointed as a member and Mrs Margaret Mann recently resigned from the group.

The current members are Miss Judith McGaffin, Mrs Joan Bruton, Mr James Clarke, Rev Canon Will Murphy and Mr Ian Slaine.

Representatives of the Working Group will be meeting with the RCB Property Committee to discuss the document entitled Opening Doors - 2006 Audit of Disabled Access - A Report on Behalf of the Church of Ireland. The document was the result of an audit of church buildings organised by the Working Group.

Subject to confirmation from the House of Bishops, the Working Group agreed that Disability Awareness Sunday 2008 would be held on 16th November.

It is planned to produce a training pack for parishes in consultation with Disability Action and the Through the Roof Organisation.

Information about the Working Group on Disability may be accessed here.

Our use of cookies

Some cookies are necessary for us to manage how our website behaves while other optional, or non-necessary, cookies help us to analyse website usage. You can Accept All or Reject All optional cookies or control individual cookie types below.

You can read more in our Cookie Notice


These cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

Analytical cookies help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage.