Church of Ireland Home

Press Releases

Two new Canons for St Patrick’s

Two new Canons have been elected to serve on the Chapter of Saint Patrick’s Cathedral, Dublin.

The Reverend Aonghus Mayes, Rector of Moy, County Tyrone, (Diocese of Armagh) and the Reverend Katharine Poulton, Rector of Julianstown Union of Parishes, County Meath, (Dioceses of Meath & Kildare) replace the Reverend Canon Dr Ian Morton Ellis and the Very Reverend Gregory Dunstan, both of whom retired at the end of October 2020, as Prebendary of Newcastle, and Prebendary of Swords, respectively.

The Dean of Saint Patrick’s Cathedral, Dr William Morton, said: “I am delighted to welcome to the Chapter our two new members and I look forward to their respective installations in due course.”

Our use of cookies

Some cookies are necessary for us to manage how our website behaves while other optional, or non-necessary, cookies help us to analyse website usage. You can Accept All or Reject All optional cookies or control individual cookie types below.

You can read more in our Cookie Notice


These cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

Analytical cookies help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage.