CHURCH OF IRELAND – GENERAL SYNOD 2015

MOTIONS

Motions received by the Honorary Secretaries of the General Synod not less than one month before the day appointed for the opening of the session of the General Synod at which the motion is to be moved (Standing Order 31).

1. TIMETABLE (SEE SEPARATE SHEET)

THE HONORARY SECRETARIES

A motion or motions to allocate the time available between the items listed on the agenda paper (Standing Order 56). (See Timetable Motion on separate sheet).

2. STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

THE HONORARY SECRETARIES

That the following be elected members of the Standing Orders Committee:

The Honorary Secretaries Rev Stephen Neill Mr Trevor Sargent

3. PETITIONS COMMITTEE

THE HONORARY SECRETARIES

That the following be elected members of the Petitions Committee:

The Honorary Secretaries Very Rev Bryan Kerr Canon Graham Richards

4. ELECTIONS COMMITTEE

THE HONORARY SECRETARIES

That the following be elected members of the Elections Committee:

The Honorary Secretaries Very Rev Bryan Kerr Canon Graham Richards

5. RECORD COMMITTEE

THE HONORARY SECRETARIES

That the following be elected members of the Record Committee:

The Honorary Secretaries Rev Stephen Farrell

Ven Richard Rountree Canon Graham Richards Ven Leslie Stevenson

6. BILLS COMMITTEE

THE HONORARY SECRETARIES

That the following be elected members of the Bills Committee:

The Bishop of Cork, Cloyne and Ross Canon Lady Sheil Mrs Ethne Harkness Very Rev Bryan Kerr Rev Brian O'Rourke

Mrs Pauline High

The Assessor (ex-officio)

The Honourable Mrs Justice Catherine McGuinness (consultant)

7. LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

THE HONORARY SECRETARIES

That the following be elected members of the Legislation Committee:

The Bishop of Limerick and Killaloe
The Honorary Secretaries
The Honourable Mrs Justice Catherine McGuinness
Rev Canon Simon Doogan
The Rt Honourable Sir Anthony Campbell

Ms Claire Bruton BL

8. SELECT COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SEXUALITY IN THE CONTEXT OF CHRISTIAN BELIEF

THE HONORARY SECRETARIES

That, as provided for in the General Synod resolution of 2013 establishing the Select Committee on Human Sexuality in the Context of Christian Belief, the General Synod resolves that the appointment of the Select Committee be extended for a further two years.

9. MORAVIAN CHURCH OF GREAT BRITAIN AND IRELAND

THE BISHOP OF CASHEL, FERNS AND OSSORY THE BISHOP OF CLOGHER

That the General Synod:

- Welcomes and affirms the conclusions and proposals contained in the report concerning recent theological dialogue between the Church of Ireland and the Moravian Church of Great Britain and Ireland;
- Asks the Standing Committee to ensure that legislation providing for the interchangeability of ministry between our two churches is laid before the Synod for consideration as soon as is

practicable, and following further examination of the developing relationship between the Moravian Church and the Church of England.

10. COMMISSION FOR CHRISTIAN UNITY AND DIALOGUE – MEMBERSHIP

VEN HELENE STEED MS KATE TURNER

That the following be appointed members of the Commission for Christian Unity and Dialogue.

The Archbishops and Bishops

Rev Ása Björk Ólafsdőttir

Rev Canon Patrick Comerford

Rev Canon David Crooks

Ms Georgina Copty

Rev Canon Dr Ian Ellis

Mr Samuel Harper

Mrs Roberta McKelvey

Dr Kenneth Milne

Mr Trevor Morrow

Rev Canon Daniel Nuzum

Rev Niall Sloane

Ven Helene Tarneberg Steed

Ms Catherine Turner

11. COVENANT COUNCIL - MEMBERSHIP

REV BARRY FORDE

That the following be elected as Church of Ireland representatives on the Covenant Council for the coming year:

Most Rev Dr Richard Clarke, Archbishop of Armagh (Co-Chair)

Ms Elva Byrne

Very Rev Nigel Dunne

Rev Canon Dr Maurice Elliott

Rev Barry Forde

Mr Harold Giboney

Rev Canon Ginnie Kennerley

Rev Dr Peter Thompson

12. COVENANT COUNCIL – CELEBRATIONS

REV BARRY FORDE

That General Synod continues to encourage congregations to celebrate the Covenant relationship with neighbouring Methodist congregations on or around John Wesley Day, 24th May, each year.

13. REPRESENTATIVE CHURCH BODY – ALLOCATIONS

MR ROBERT NEILL THE BISHOP OF CONNOR

That the General Synod hereby authorises the Representative Body to make the following allocations from General Funds in 2015:

	€
Group A – Maintenance of the Stipendiary Ministry	1,319,788
Group B – Pension Related Costs	138,645
Group C – Training of Ordinands	1,400,120
Group D – General Synod Activities	1,002,822
Group E – Miscellaneous	5,500
	3,866,875

14. VAT ON REMEDIAL WORK ON PROTECTED STRUCTURES

VERY REV MARIA JANSSON MR TREVOR SARGENT

That the General Synod calls on the governments, in Northern Ireland and in the Republic of Ireland respectively, to reduce the VAT burden of necessary remedial works on protected structures and that the Church of Ireland seeks to cooperate with other churches in Ireland to advance this aim.

15. COMMISSION ON EPISCOPAL MINISTRY AND STRUCTURES – EPISCOPAL ELECTIONS

REV STEPHEN FARRELL VEN ANDREW FORSTER

That General Synod welcomes the principles, analysis and approach to the election of Bishops outlined in Appendix III to the report of the Commission on Episcopal Ministry and Structures, acknowledges that there is a need for change and requests the Commission to bring a Bill to the next General Synod to reform the procedure for electing Bishops along the lines proposed.

16. COMMISSION ON EPISCOPAL MINISTRY AND STRUCTURES – DIOCESAN BOUNDARIES

MRS ETHNE HARKNESS MRS BRIGID BARRETT

That General Synod welcomes the general principles, analysis and approach to diocesan restructuring outlined in paragraphs 26 to 32 inclusive in the report of the Commission on Episcopal Ministry and Structures, acknowledges a need for structural change and requests the Commission, following consultation with the Diocesan Councils, to bring a Bill for structural reorganisation to the next General Synod.

17. COMMISSION ON MINISTRY – CENTRE OF COMMUNITY PRAYER, RETREAT, HOSPITALITY AND STUDY

VERY REV KATHARINE POULTON THE BISHOP OF CASHEL, FERNS AND OSSORY

That the General Synod considers that the establishment of a centre of community prayer, retreat, hospitality and study might be one suitable means by which the Church of Ireland could mark the forthcoming 150th Anniversary of Disestablishment, and commends efforts by the Commission on Ministry and others to undertake a scoping study to examine the feasibility of such a project and to present it as a priority for the Church.

18. CHURCH OF IRELAND PENSIONS BOARD - MEMBERSHIP

(In the event of Bill No 7 receiving a third reading and being passed)

THE BISHOP OF CLOGHER MR GEOFFREY PERRIN

That, in accordance with the provisions of Section 25 (b) of Chapter XIV of the Constitution, the following be elected as members of the Church of Ireland Pensions Board:

Canon Lady Sheil Rev John Auchmuty Mrs Cynthia Cherry

19. COUNCIL FOR MISSON – 2014 GENERAL SYNOD BREAK OUT

VERY REV KENNETH HALL MS JOHANNE MARTIN

That this Synod receives the report of the 2014 General Synod 'Break Out' session and calls on each diocese and body of the Church to consider and act on its key findings.

20. COUNCIL FOR MISSION – SOLIDARITY WITH PERSECUTED CHRISTIANS

VERY REV KENNETH HALL MS JOHANNE MARTIN

That the General Synod expresses its solidarity with its brothers and sisters in Christ throughout the world who are persecuted for their faith; and commends them to their prayers, along with all agencies who work to alleviate their suffering and promote their basic human right, as expressed in the Geneva Convention, to freedom of religion.

21. JOURNAL OF THE GENERAL SYNOD

THE HONORARY SECRETARIES

That the Honorary Secretaries of the General Synod be instructed to publish with as little delay as possible, the Journal of the Proceedings of the General Synod during this session, with such appendices as they think expedient.