## THE CHURCH OF IRELAND

## **GENERAL SYNOD 2010**

## **ACT**

## To amend the Statute, Chapter V of 1944

WHEREAS it is expedient to make further provision for the regulation of the Board of the Cathedral Church of St Anne, Belfast;

AND WHEREAS it is also expedient for cognisance to be taken of the establishment of a Charities' Commission for Northern Ireland;

AND WHEREAS the provisions of this Bill have the consent of the Ordinary and the approval of the Bishop of Down and Dromore and were adopted by the Board of the said Cathedral Church;

BE IT ENACTED by the Archbishops and Bishops and the Clergy and Laity of the Church of Ireland in General Synod assembled in Dublin in the year 2010 and by the authority of the same as follows:-

- 1. For Sections 9 and 10 of the Statute, Chapter V of 1944, as amended, there shall be substituted the following:
  - 9. The Registered Vestrymen shall, triennially at the Easter Vestry, elect from the General Vestry List five members of the Board and four Parochial Nominators and four Supplemental Parochial Nominators, and they shall also elect Synodsmen and Supplemental Synodsmen to sit as members of the Diocesan Synod of Connor; and the said Nominators and Synodsmen shall be elected in the same manner and have the same privileges as Nominators and Synodsmen elected for Parishes. The number of Synodsmen shall be two for each Clergyman duly licensed and officiating in the Cathedral who is not otherwise qualified to sit as a member of the said Diocesan Synod.

The Incumbent of Belfast shall appoint annually one Cathedral Warden and the Registered Vestrymen shall appoint annually one Cathedral Warden, and those Wardens shall have the same powers, rights and privileges as Churchwardens elected by Parishes, unless otherwise ordered by the Board.

- 10. The Board shall be constituted of the following persons:-
  - (a) ex officio members:

The Ordinary
The Bishop of Down and Dromore
The Dean of Belfast
The Chancellor – the Archdeacon of Down
The Precentor – the Archdeacon of Belfast
Licensed clergy of the Cathedral

- (b) Two members of the Chapter elected triennially;
- (c) The two Cathedral Wardens;
- (d) Five members of the General Vestry elected triennially in accordance with section 9,
- (e) A lay member appointed triennially by the Diocesan Council of Connor;
- (f) A lay member appointed triennially by the Diocesan Council of Down and Dromore.

The Board shall meet annually with the Chapter and the General Vestry of the Cathedral.

The Board shall meet at such times and under such regulations as may be determined by the byelaws of the Board, and at such meetings the Ordinary, or in his absence, the Dean shall preside and, when presiding, shall have an ordinary vote and a second or casting vote.

The Board shall direct the maintenance of the Cathedral and have the control and management of all moneys which have been subscribed or bequeathed or may hereafter be subscribed or bequeathed for that purpose so far as is not inconsistent with any trust thereof or the duties of any trustees in which the said funds are vested, and a receipt under the direction of the Board shall be a sufficient discharge for all such moneys.

The Board shall have the appointment and removal of the organist and other lay officials of the Cathedral, the regulation of their salaries, and generally the arrangement of financial and other matters relating or appertaining to the Cathedral not by this Statute otherwise provided for, except the money given at the offertory, which shall be controlled and managed as is directed by the Book of Common Prayer.