BOARD FOR SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY (RI)

REPORT 2009

MEMBERSHIP

	Chairperson: Rev Canon David (Catterall
	Hon Secretary:	Mrs Beryl Kinsela	
	Mrs Ann Craig Rev Canon Nancy Gillespie (resigned Feb 2008) Mr Walter Pringle		Miss Vivienne Darling
			Cllr Leonard Hatrick
			Mrs Freda Stewart-Maunder (retired Dec 2008)
Mrs Mary Thomson (resigned Oct 2008)		esigned Oct 2008)	Mr George Glenn (BSR-NI)

SUMMARY

Following General Synod 2008, the Standing Committee began a process of creating a new body which will combine the work of three existing bodies to adequately meet the needs of the Church of Ireland when dealing with issues of societal importance. The proposals envisage a new board that will reflect theologically and then go on to provide strategies and structures to promote action by the Church of Ireland at national and local levels. The members of this Board have enthusiastically participated in this project with members of the Board for Social Action (NI) and the Church in Society Committee. There has been no other significant activity by the Board during the year.

MEMBERSHIP

During the year two members resigned due to pressure of other commitments. To Rev Canon Nancy Gillespie and Mrs Mary Thomson, as to Rev Canon Des Sinnamon from a previous year, we offer thanks for their insights and support.

It was with regret that the Board noted the retirement of Mrs Freda Stewart-Maunder who had been a long standing member representing the Diocese of Raphoe. Mrs F Stewart-Maunder had a passionate concern about standards and inequalities in the delivery of services. Her commitment and contribution to the Board was very much valued.

355