Church of Ireland Home

Diocesan Records

Diocesan Records

Most of the records of the Irish dioceses were destroyed in the fire in the Public Record Office of Ireland in 1922. For a list of the records which were destroyed, see Herbert Wood, A guide to the records deposited in the Public Record Office of Ireland (Dublin, 1919).

The Library holds records from the following dioceses:–

  • Ardfert & Aghadoe
  • Cashel, Emly, Waterford & Lismore
  • Clogher
  • Clonfert & Kilmacduagh
  • Cloyne
  • Cork, Cloyne & Ross
  • Dublin, Glendalough & Kildare
  • Elphin & Ardagh – view handlist as a PDF file
  • Killaloe & Kilfenora
  • Kilmore – view handlist as a PDF file
  • Limerick, Arfert & Agahdoe
  • Meath – view handlist as a PDF file.
    For catalogue and background to the Meath Diocesan Archive see this link
  • Ossory, Ferns & Leighlin
  • Tuam, Killala & Achonry

Diocesan records are subject to a 40 year rule

Handlists of some of these records are available in the Library

Contact Details

PDF Files

To read PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your device.Please click here to download the latest version.