Church of Ireland Home

Standing Committee

Standing Committee

What is the Standing Committee?

The Standing Committee carries out the functions of the General Synod which have been delegated to it by the Synod, while the Synod is not in session. It meets six times a year, in January, March, April, June, September and November, usually in Dublin.

What does the Standing Committee do?

The business of the Standing Committee is extremely varied. The agenda may include consideration of state legislation affecting the Church, financial matters, appointment of delegates to conferences etc. appointments to sub–committees, receiving reports from sub–committees on social and other issues, Anglican Communion matters and inter–church business.

Who is on the Standing Committee?

The Standing Committee consists of the Archbishops and Bishops, the four Honorary Secretaries of the General Synod, two clerical and two lay representatives from each of the twelve dioceses and seven co–opted members. The diocesan representatives must include one clerical and one lay person under 45 and one of each 45 or over. Clerical members are elected by the clerical members of the Synod representing that particular diocese, and likewise the lay members. There is a total of 71 members on the Committee.

The Standing Committee is elected triennially by postal ballot and the result is reported to the Synod at the first session of the triennium. Only members of the General Synod are eligible for election. The seven co–opted members are elected by the Standing Committee at its first meeting after election.

What are the committees of the Standing Committee?

There are a number of committees elected by the Standing Committee which report directly to it annually. These include the Central Communications Board, the World Development – Bishops’ Appeal Advisory Committee and the Priorities Fund Committee. Annual reports from these committees are included in the Book of Reports to the General Synod, mostly as appendices to the Standing Committee report.

Who runs the Standing Committee?

The Chairman is the Archbishop of Armagh and the Honorary Secretaries of the General Synod oversee the running of the Committee. The day–to–day work of servicing the Committee is carried out by the General and Synod Services Department of the Representative Church Body, based in Church of Ireland House in Dublin. The Head of the Department and Assistant Secretary of the General Synod is Janet Maxwell, assisted by Catherine Smith as Synod Officer.

Whom do you contact?

All communications should be addressed to:

The Assistant Secretary of the General Synod of the Church of Ireland
Church of Ireland House
Church Avenue
Dublin 6

Tel: +353 1 497 8422
Fax: +353 1 497 8821
Email: General Synod Services

Please click here for Standing Committee news.

Agenda and enclosures for Standing Committee meetings are available to download.

Each set of meeting papers is stored in a password protected area. Usernames and passwords are only available to Standing Committee members. 

Standing Committee Members may click here to access meeting papers. 

Our use of cookies

Some cookies are necessary for us to manage how our website behaves while other optional, or non-necessary, cookies help us to analyse website usage. You can Accept All or Reject All optional cookies or control individual cookie types below.

You can read more in our Cookie Notice


These cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

Analytical cookies help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage.